Lapsed vegan goes back to her roots (recipe)

I’m a lapsed vegan. There I said it. No longer do I hear the animals cry when I walk near the meat counters. Yesterday I spent a good 10 minutes at the chicken counter looking at the parts that were once attached to a chicken trying to get a feeling of utter revulsion I used to get. I didn’t. I did however get a lot of weird looks as I stood staring. In the meantime, during this lasped phase, I thought I should go back my roots and do a vegan dish for my dear IT man and dearest friend,who is here to help me set up some stuff on the comp and for our usual Friday night Feast – Food for the Soul. SO here goes:

Moraccan-ish chickpeas and cous cous

Ingredients:

Chickpeas

Avocado

Finely chopped spring onion

Cherry tomatoes

diced Walnuts and almonds

Cous cous

Double thick (or fat free) yoghurt (vegetarian option)

Dressing:quality olive oil

Lemons

An Orange

Fresh coriander

Fresh Parlsely

Garlic

Mustard seeds

Spices

Flat tablespoon of the spices below:

Ground cinnamon

Tumeric

Cumin

Ginger

Half a tbs spoon Chilli powder

How to make:

Take your cooked chickpeas (or tin of chickpeas) and drain. Roll gently in the mix of the spices above. In the oven pop some mustard seeds in some olive oil. When they are popping, take the dish out oven and add chickpeas, and slightly crushed walnuts and almonds. Add some extra oil if necessary. Toss about and let them all toast.

toasted chickpeas and nuts

Meanwhile, make the cous cous as directed and let it stand.

In a bowl mix the zest of half a lemon, the zest of half an orange, the juice of half an orange, and the juice of one and a half lemons. Crush one garlic and add. Extra finely chop the parsley and the coriander and add. Add a good serving of olive oil (this is the dressing).

Take the toasted chickpeas and nuts out of the oven. Add chopped baby tomatoes, spring onions and dressing, then mix all into the cous cous. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve with a dollop of the yoghurt (vegetarian) , some fresh avocado slices and a sprig of coriander.

i love all these colours

So yummy hope I.T. friend will like. I will try and post a pic later if I can only but learn how to post pics and tag!

Whatever you are doing this Friday night, I hope it is a goodie.

the ultra yummy dressing

Leave a Reply

