um, so i guess that’s goodbye then….

he came like a thief in the night.

or at least that’s my story.

i didn’t expect him at all. this man who stole my heart.

if i had known he would come, i would most certainly have put extra bolts and walls up. but i wasn’t expecting him. he scaled the balcony, this fortress I had built, and snuck in through a side door of my quiet life. he found me half asleep, unused to visitors and yet, somewhere – deep inside – half expecting him.

he coaxed me with beautiful words, and moonlight songs strummed on his big bold guitar. he filled my home with paintings and my fridge with things i had deprived myself of for so long. With him, the ice slowly started to melt around me, at first half cracking around the permanent smile planted on my face.

and then as quickly as he had scaled the wall of my heart, he walked out of my front door and drove off in a real car … right out of my life. the irony is, is that i had asked him to go, not because i had wanted him to, but because i had needed him to.

And now as I sit, in my white cool room, no remnants of him to be found, save for two paintings lying in my lounge, I wonder if I had dreamt it all, or if love had perhaps visited me for a time.

        two unfinished paintings stacked upon each other in my lounge, one’s colour inverted on my computer

13 responses to “um, so i guess that’s goodbye then….

  1. How stunning.

  2. Very intriguing story in the poem and underlying theme…thanks for sharing the poem.

  3. hello dear poet, thanks for stopping by.
    it wasn’t meant to be a poem but somehow i am glad it sounds like one, thanks.
    ps. am really enjoying your poetry!

  4. Oh wow, I hope you’re Ok.. I know what that feels like..

    • thanks sweet Angel May. i have slipped back into the tranquillity of my PLL (pre-love life) and am happy to be back. sometimes those tempestuous, intense, larger-than-life moments are supposed to be just that… sweet moments xxx

  5. Love seeketh not Itself to please,
    Nor for itself hath any care;
    But for another gives its ease,
    And builds a Heaven in Hells despair.

    So sang a little Clod of Clay,
    Trodden with the cattle’s feet;
    But a Pebble of the brook,
    Warbled out these metres meet.

    Love seeketh only Self to please,

    To bind another to Its delight:
    Joys in anothers loss of ease,
    And builds a Hell in Heavens despite.

    The Clod and the Pebble
    by William Blake (1757-1827)

    “All fuel for the art and writing” K

    • i often wonder if writing is the balm for my life, or if life is the fuel for my writing , either way thanks god for life and words 🙂 thanks K – how apt blakes poem xxx

  6. it seems there is a twist on the Rapunzel’s story 🙂

  7. As you say, you needed him to go. Perhaps he was there only to show you that the ice can melt, the permanent smile can crack.

    I always try to look for the lessons learnt in any situation. Beautifully written! 🙂

    • thank you so much 🙂
      yes, i definitely took something away from this encounter, many lessons to be learnt every day in earth school that is for sure – and hey maybe there is still another ending to be written ;)….
      i’m off to visit your lovely blog right now x

Leave a Reply

