Particles make the whole

my dear friend Paul and I at The Power and The Glory in Cape Town. Pic taken by Brent Harris on Paul's cellphone.

the street lights tried,
unsuccessfully,
to penetrate her soul.
her heart,
timidly,
hung
to the side
of her head,
long wrung to silence.
Yet, with him,
she found
some particles of light
where once
it
had
been
dead.

* words evoked by life and by the photo.

Paul and I were discussing doing a coffee table book with pix and words, so after him trying to get me to do rhymes and other such silly things to see if he could possibly use me to do the writing (all this while sipping on hot chocolate after dinner) and also after he had attended my writing workshop (dear paul you are so talented you could be doing your own writing), we decided to do something via email

and so we started off by him sending me this pic tonight.

the sort of poem sort of prose  was my response.

 

Leave a Reply

