final scene: to mr haversham, on his proposal (which causes petulia much discord and affords her a great opportunity for self sabotage)

I’d like to say yes

oh yes indeed

with all my heart and soul

but you see Mr Haversham

I am rather mad

I have a hunchback(what do you mean you’ve never noticed?)

And no teeth(absolutely none)

And a tit that is rather skew

I have issues(yes, i promise I do)

and

You see

Mr haversham

I’m really not fit

For love

or other  such sporty affairs

Of this earthly

Discord,

My friends

Are dead people (yes, long buried)

You see

Mr haversham

I certainly couldnt

make you

A good wife

Why no, I would drive you crazy

my haversham

Best you leave me

where  neurosis like this

caused by your absurd proposal

can do me no harm,

run along now

Mr haversham please

i beg you

and leave me

like you found me (oh was it really at the chinese food bazaar?)

and please

Mr Haversham

one last thing,

close the door

on your way out….

exit mr haversham…

petulia lies on her chaise lounge her hand on her forehead, and begins to sob out into the lonely night

what have i done, no  please come back mr haversham

i do have one tooth left in my mouth and i’m not really that mad, just scared, and i still have one good breast)

the rain and petulia’s sobs become one as the light fades out….

narrator’s voice: And so,petulia, who had long learnt that with joy comes pain, was doomed to see out the rest of her days on her own, having driven out the one man she loved the most .

Petulia’s voice from the dark:“It is best to forsake the joy now and so escape the pain that is sure to follow…..

Narrator’s voice: Oh silly petulia!

THE END

6 responses to “final scene: to mr haversham, on his proposal (which causes petulia much discord and affords her a great opportunity for self sabotage)

  1. exit stage right.

    I hold it true, whate’er befall;
    I feel it, when I sorrow most;
    ‘Tis better to have loved and lost
    Than never to have loved at all.

    and who said teeth were all that important………………

  2. So beautiful! Love the line ‘And so,petulia, who had long learnt that with joy comes pain’…. Running from joy only brings more pain, and that is a lesson we fail to learn always! 🙂

  3. This is terrific! LOved it even more the second time around 😀

Leave a Reply

