snakes and ladders

I went down a tunnel
so dark and dangerous
Searching searching
For Truth
But all I found
were snakes and lies
And a ladder or two
i went further
i could not let darkness take me
further further down
excavating all that had blocked the way
and there,
in the centre,
i found her
the child i had left behind.
i reached out
as she looked toward me
40 years had passed, but she had not aged.
she smiled.
‘I’ve been waiting for you”, she said, and took my hand.

One response to “snakes and ladders

  1. You have no idea how this made me smile. Thank you for writing this and sharing it.

Leave a Reply

